Miami-Dade County awarded $19.8 million towards the purchase of new battery-powered electric buses

September 20, 2022

This week, the State of Florida announced a $19.8 million investment in Miami-Dade County for the purchase of 63 electric buses. Through a settlement with Volkswagen, the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) awarded more than $68 million to purchase 227 electric transit buses in 13 counties statewide, including $19.8 for Miami-Dade County – the largest award recipient of the counties. DTPW has already received the first vehicles of a total of 75 40-foot battery-powered electric buses manufactured by Proterra. Upon the full delivery of the 75 vehicles, DTPW will run one of the largest fleets of 40-foot electric buses in the United States. Additionally, the department is working to procure 100 60-foot electric buses for the South Dade TransitWay and other bus routes.

The source of this news is from Proterra